Other news

JPL IX: Sunrisers Celebrate Third JPL Title

  • 2024-05-05
  • Other news

The East Kanto Sunrisers won their third Japan Premier League title thanks to an inspired performance from Ibrahim Takahashi as they sunk the South Kanto Super Kings. 

Captaining the team for the first time, Takahashi played a major role in getting his team to the final by dismissing the dangerous Josh Brown of the Kansai Chargers on the way to a crushing seven-wicket win to book their place in the Sunday showpiece.

However, it was in the main event that he really took charge, firstly taking four wickets for just seven runs to restrict the Super Kings to 99 for nine from their 20 overs. 

He then came to the crease with the team wobbling at 54 for five and struck a nerveless 32 not out to ease his team home by five wickets

The Kansai Chargers defeat in the morning meant they finished third on the table and would take on North Kanto Lions in the playoff for third place where Abdul Samad warmed up for his expected international debut next week with a virtuoso performance of his own. 

Batting first he top scored with a run-a-ball 31 to take the Chargers to 141 for eight, before taking three for 27 to keep the Lions to 131 for nine meaning a 10-run win and a best ever finish for the Chargers since they joined the competition.

In a day for JPL captains, Sabaorish Ravichandran struck a 33-ball 53 to give the Super Kings a seven-wicket win over the West Kanto Hurricanes and consign the 2023 Champions to a winless 2024 tournament and the wooden spoon. 

The JCA would like to formally thank all the umpires, scores, coaches, commentators, ground staff and a special thanks to Assistant Tournament Referee Pruthviraj Madineni for his efforts across the three days.  

Match Summaries: 

  • Kansai Chargers, 111/8 lost to East Kanto Sunrisers, 115/3 (K.Kadowaki-Fleming 59) by 7 wickets.
  • South Kanto Super Kings, 123/3 (Ravichandran 53), beat West Kanto Hurricanes, 122/6 (L. Yamamoto-Lake 49, Kalia 33) by 7 wickets.

3rd Place Playoff:

  • Kansai Chargers, 141/8 (Samad 31, Suzuki 30, K.Hiratsuka 3/17) beat North Kanto Lions, 131/9 (Kulasooriya 30, Samad 3/27) by 10 runs). 

Grand Final: 

  • East Kanto Sunrisers, 102/5 (Takahashi 32*, Ravichandran 3/13), beat South Kanto Super Kings, 99/9 (Takahashi 4/7) by 5 wickets. 


Individual Awards:

  • Best Batter: Josh Brown (233 runs, strike rate 202.61)
  • Best Bowler: Ibrahim Takahashi (9 wickets, economy rate 5.08)
  • Player of the Tournament: Kendel Kadowaki-Fleming (207 runs, strike rate 164.29 &  1 wicket economy rate 6.50)

Final Standings:

  1. East Kanto Sunrisers
  2. South Kanto Super Kings
  3. Kansai Chargers
  4. North Kanto Lions
  5. West Kanto Hurricanes