News & Articles

All You Need to Know: WJPL|02

  • 2024-05-13
  • News & Articles

The Women’s Japan Premier League is back for 2024, with even more cricket this year!

Our two teams, Eastern Waves and Western Eagles are facing off once again in a series of matches across six days (May 14th – May 19th). With five T10 matches providing the introduction before the three match T20 contest. 

Not only will our Japanese players be playing, but thanks to our partnerships with the Titans in South Africa and Sri Lanka Cricket, we are able to welcome two players from each of those nations while also welcoming two players each from our EAP rivals Indonesia and Vanuatu. Finally, we have two players from Australia returning for a second year, you’ll be able to see them all in action everyday and even get to meet a few players along the way. 

All our matches will be live-streamed on the Japan Cricket Association YouTube channel.

Come on down to the Sano International Cricket Ground (SICG) to watch the best of the best face off with each other to see who will be the champions for 2024. 

If you’re a viewer from 2023, welcome back and if you’re new, welcome to the JCA family, check out the highlights from 2023 as well as the full squads and match schedule which are listed below. Who are you supporting??

Match Schedule

  • T10 Game 1:Tuesday 14th May, 14:00
  • T10 Game 2:Wednesday 15th May, 10:00
  • T10 Game 3:Wednesday 15th May, 14:00
  • T10 Game 4:Thursday 16th May, 10:00
  • T10 Game 5:Thursday 16th May, 14:00
  • T20 Game 1:Friday 17th May, 10:00
  • T20 Game 2:Saturday 18th May, 10:00
  • T20 Game 3:Sunday 19th May, 10:00

Squad List

Eastern Waves

  • Ahilya Chandel (C)
  • Jess Adams (Australia)
  • Kiyo Fujikawa
  • Haruna Iwasaki
  • Elena Kusuda-Nairn
  • Akari Nishimura
  • Meg Ogawa
  • Kurumi Ota
  • Selina Solman (Vanuatu)
  • Seika Sumi
  • Erika Toguchi-Quinn
  • Christelle Van der Schyff (South Africa)
  • Piumi Wathhsala (Sri Lanka)
  • Maria Corazon Wombaki (Indonesia)
  • Mai Yanagida


  • Ikuho Kakinuma
  • Rino Morita

Western Eagles

  • Erika Oda (C)
  • Rachel Andrew (Vanuatu)
  • Anjali Ekanayake
  • Emmerson Filsell (Australia)
  • Ayumi Fujikawa
  • Hinase Goto
  • Palak Gundecha
  • Ayaka Kanada
  • Ishu Karunarathna
  • Shimako Kato
  • Paulinah Mashishi (South Africa)
  • Shrunali Ranade
  • Nanda Sakarini (Indonesia)
  • Sathya Sandeepani (Sri Lanka)
  • Nonoha Yasumoto


  • Ayumi Doi
  • Mamta Kaswan

JCA Official Social Media