News & Articles

Men’s Japan National Cricket Team for 19th Asian Games Confirmed

  • 2023-07-31
  • News & Articles
  • National Team (Men)

We are delighted to confirm that the 15 players that comprise the Men’s Japan National Cricket Team for the 19th Asian Games have been announced by the Japan Olympic Committee. The 19th Asian Games will be held in Hangzhou, China in September to October.

The team will again be captained by Kendel Kadowaki-Fleming, while one former and one current Men’s Under 19 Japan National Team players are selected for the first time in Ashley Thurgate and Kazuma Kato-Stafford.

The team will depart for China on Monday 25th September with the cricket scheduled to start on Wednesday 27th September.

The Men’s Japan National Cricket Team is as follows:

  • Kendel Kadowaki-Fleming (Chiba Sharks Cricket Club)
  • Ryan Drake (Sano Cricket Club)
  • Kazuma Kato-Stafford (Akishima Aviators Cricket Club)
  • Shogo Kimura (Wyverns Cricket Club)
  • Kouhei Kubota (Wyverns Cricket Club / Keio University Knights Cricket Club)
  • Wataru Miyauchi (Wyverns Cricket Club)
  • Reo Sakurano-Thomas (Sano Cricket Club)
  • Alexander Shirai-Patmore (Tokyo Wombats Cricket Club)
  • Declan Suzuki-McComb (Cheltenham Cricket Club)
  • Muneeb Siddique Mian (Chiba Sharks Cricket Club)
  • Tsuyoshi Takada (Chiba Sharks Cricket Club)
  • Ibrahim Takahashi (Chiba Sharks Cricket Club)
  • Makoto Taniyama (MAX Cricket Club / Osaka Raiders Cricket Club)
  • Ashley Thurgate (Chiba Sharks Cricket Club)
  • Lachlan Yamamoto-Lake (Willetton Dragons Cricket Club)


  • Kento Ota-Dobell (Footscray Cricket Club)
  • Marcus Thurgate (Chiba Sharks Cricket Club)
  • Jun Yamashita (Osaka Raiders Cricket Club)

We wish the team the best of luck at this unique event.