News & Articles

Squad Announced for World T20 Qualifier in the Philippines

  • 2018-10-17
  • News & Articles
  • National Team (Men)

Arata Ueda

The touring squad of 14 for the World T20 Qualifier that will take place in the Philippines from 1st – 8th December has been confirmed today.

Coming into the touring squad for the first time is Arata Ueda, who earns his place through excellent performances during the season at club level. Shogo Kimura drops out of the 14 due to playing commitments in Australia.

The players will depart on November 29th and the tournament will feature matches against the hosts plus Indonesia and Korea. Each team will play each other twice and the overall winner will qualify for the next stage of qualifying against Papua New Guinea and Vanuatu in early 2019. The full fixtures can be seen by clicking here.

The full group of 14 is as follows:

  1. Raheel Kano (Wyverns Cricket Club)
  2. Masaomi Kobayashi (MAX Cricket Club)
  3. Rui Matsumura (Chiba Sharks Cricket Club)
  4. Naotsune Miyaji (Wyverns Cricket Club)
  5. Wataru Miyauchi (Wyverns Cricket Club)
  6. Tomoki Ota (Wyverns Cricket Club)
  7. Muneeb Siddique Mian (Chiba Sharks Cricket Club)
  8. Tsuyoshi Takada (Chiba Sharks Cricket Club)
  9. Kazumasa Takahashi (Sano Cricket Club)
  10. Makoto Taniyama (MAX Cricket Club)
  11. Marcus Thurgate (Chiba Sharks Cricket Club)
  12. Arata Ueda (Keio University Cricket Club)
  13. Kohei Wakita (International Buddhist University Cricket Club)
  14. Jun Yamashita (International Buddhist University Cricket Club)

The Japanese Men’s Squad is sponsored by Queserser.