News & Articles

Touring Squad for East Asia Cup Announced

  • 2018-08-02
  • News & Articles
  • National Team (Men)

The touring squad for the Men’s East Asia Cup to be held in Hong Kong was announced today with several players earning their first call up for a tournament.

The group of 14 will include for the first time Kazumasa Takahashi who will celebrate his 15th birthday on the day of departure, and Shogo Kimura, the former Baseball professional, and will be captained by Masaomi Kobayashi.

The tournament will see Japan compete against China, Hong Kong Dragons and Korea.

Matches will take place each day from September 13th – 16th and regular updates will be posted on all the Japan Cricket Association social media sites as well as match reports featuring on our website.

The full group of 14 is as follows:

  1. Raheel Kano (Wyverns Cricket Club)
  2. Shogo Kimura (Wyverns Cricket Club)
  3. Masaomi Kobayashi (MAX Cricket Club)
  4. Rui Matsumura (Chiba Sharks Cricket Club)
  5. Naotsune Miyaji (Wyverns Cricket Club)
  6. Wataru Miyauchi (Wyverns Cricket Club)
  7. Tomoki Ota (Wyverns Cricket Club)
  8. Muneeb Siddique Mian (Chiba Sharks Cricket Club)
  9. Tsuyoshi Takada (Chiba Sharks Cricket Club)
  10. Kazumasa Takahashi (Sano Cricket Club)
  11. Makoto Taniyama (MAX Cricket Club)
  12. Souta Wada (International Buddhist University Cricket Club)
  13. Kohei Wakita (International Buddhist University Cricket Club)
  14. Jun Yamashita (International Buddhist University Cricket Club)

The tournament will be staffed by JCA employees, with Dhugal Bedingfield taking the role of Coach and Alan Curr acting as Team Manager.

We wish the team good luck in their attempts to win a first East Asia Cup title.