News & Articles

Men’s Japan National Squad and Men’s Japan A Squad 2024 Announced

  • 2024-06-15
  • News & Articles
  • National Team (Men)

The National Selection Committee for the Men’s Japan National Squads, chaired by Dhugal Bedingfield, have confirmed the final selections for the 2024 season following the Japan Premier League and early rounds of the domestic season. 

Benjamin Ito-Davis is the only new face in the squad, although Alester Kadowaki-Fleming and Abdul Samad are promoted from the 2023 Japan A squad. 

Men’s Japan National Squad

  • Ryan Drake (Sano Cricket Club)
  • Benjamin Gou Ito-Davis (Chiba Sharks Cricket Club)*
  • Alester Kadowaki-Fleming (Chiba Sharks Cricket Club)
  • Kendel Kadowaki-Fleming (Chiba Sharks Cricket Club)
  • Kohei Kubota (Wyverns Cricket Club)
  • Piyush Kumbhare (Tigers Cricket Club)
  • Muneeb Siddique Mian (Chiba Sharks Cricket Club)
  • Wataru Miyauchi (Wyverns Cricket Club)
  • Supun Nawarathna (MAX Cricket Club)
  • Kento Ota-Dobell (Chiba Sharks Cricket Club)
  • Sabaorish Ravichandran (Tigers Cricket Club)
  • Reo Sakurano-Thomas (Sano Cricket Club)
  • Abdul Samad (Tokyo Wombats Cricket Club)
  • Alexander Shirai-Patmore (Tokyo Wombats Cricket Club)
  • Declan Suzuki-McComb (Sano Cricket Club)
  • Ibrahim Takahashi (Chiba Sharks Cricket Club)
  • Makoto Taniyama (Sano Cricket Club)
  • Marcus Thurgate (Chiba Sharks Cricket Club)
  • Lachlan Yamamoto-Lake (Sano Cricket Club)

*Selected for the first time

The Men’s Japan A Squad has also been finalised. Abhishek Anand is the only new addition following strong domestic performances, especially in the 2024 Japan Premier League, while Jake Kusuda-Nairn returns having previously featured in the National Academy squad in 2020/21.

Men’s Japan A Squad

  • Abhishek Anand (Tokyo Falcons Cricket Club)*
  • Vinay Iyer (Kawasaki Knight RIders Cricket Club)
  • Raheel Kano (Wyverns Cricket Club)
  • Zubair Khan (Sano Cricket Club)
  • Shogo Kimura (Wyverns Cricket Club)
  • Jake Kusuda-Nairn (Sano Cricket Club)*
  • Masato Morita (MAX Cricket Club)
  • Manav Natarajan (Chiba Sharks Cricket Club)
  • Shu Noguchi (Sano Cricket Club)
  • Tsuyoshi Takada (Chiba Sharks Cricket Club)
  • Ashley Thurgate (Chiba Sharks Cricket Club)
  • Souta Wada (Sano Cricket Club)

*Selected for the first time

Congratulations to all those selected and good luck for the year ahead.

About the Men’s Japan National Squad

  • The Men’s Japan National Squad is an annual training squad consisting of the top performing players. The aim of the squad is to build an inspirational Men’s National Team. Men’s Japan National Teams that play International Cricket are selected from this squad.

About the Men’s Japan A Squad

  • The Men’s Japan A Squad, previously the Men’s U23 category of the National Academy, is an annual training squad consisting of promising players with the potential of representing Japan. This squad aims to help such players maximise their potential.

Players in the Japan A Squad may be chosen to represent Japan in international tournaments.

Men’s National Team Partner

  • Mitsui Knowledge Industry Co., Ltd.

Mitsui Knowledge Industry Co., Ltd. is a wholly owned subsidiary of Mitsui & Co., Ltd. (MKI) specialized in providing services and products related to ICT (information and communication technology). Partnering with various global ICT vendors and supporting more than 2,500 companies, MKI offers best-in-class solutions to customers.


JCA Official Social Media